Lifestyle Design & Your Vision of the Ideal Yoga Life

hyt blog 4The term “Lifestyle Design” was made famous by Tim Ferris in his book The 4-Hour Workweek where he conjures all sorts of images of twenty-something’s running with the bulls in Pamplona, spearfishing in the south pacific, or sipping cocktails at a beach in the Caribbean. Even while nursing a shoulder injury from repeatedly patting himself on the back, the money rolls in by the thousand’s every week. The underlying sentiment is that you were not smart enough to figure out how to escape hustling away at a 9-5 job or series of side gigs trying to keep your vision alive.  Pay him and he may give you a glimpse of what skills & ideas you are missing to achieve that vision.

hyt blog 5The yoga version of this ideal would be floating around the globe from conference to workshop to retreat on your whim with crowds of adoring students waiting for you. Some hybrid of Seane Corn, Shiva Rea, & Rodney Yee. You have videos selling around the clock online, you grace the cover of Yoga Journal occasionally, your DVD’s fill entertainment centers everywhere, and you have your own line of yoga pants. Money has not gotten in the way of your true teaching because you found the secret and operate on another plane free of worldly concerns. You have struck a perfect balance of your physical practice, service to community, and non-stop bliss in the world you have created.

hyt blogThe reality for most is that you have to hustle to make a living (even partial) from teaching yoga. You teach regularly in 3 studios and are on the sub list for a few more. You have a good group of steady students on your Saturday morning and Tuesday night classes.  You just passed 1,500 likes on Facebook. You blog and seem to have a nice following. You make 50% of your modest, monthly income in the yoga realm but you still have to hustle a second job (wait tables, nanny or help manage a yoga studio…). You have tightened your belt and learned to live with less.

What if you could make your reality closer to that ideal and make incremental hyt blog 2movements towards a vision of a life you love?  That was what motivated me when I started pouring myself wholeheartedly into Hiking Yoga.  Unlike Tim, I can’t say that I work a 4-hour work week, but then again, since I love what I do I am not counting the hours.  My focus is not to get rich, but to live richly.  I spend time with my family that I love and I get people in their bodies outdoors doing yoga.  I love how stoked people are after a yoga hike and how they gush from the experience.

hyt blog 3

Over time I trained hundreds of teachers to lead yoga hikes for my company.  I noticed that many teachers even with their 200 to 500 hour training, struggled to reach their goals.  There is very little guidance out there for yoga teachers in the realm of business ownership and marketing.  That is what inspired me to create Hiking Yoga Training.  I found balance within my entrepreneurial dream, my yoga practice and my family.  I want to share that experience because I believe that we all can live a fulfilled life and still stay true to our dreams. You can live the life that you love!

Leave a Reply

